Between Everything and Nothing

There is a space between feeling that we can accomplish everything and that we can accomplish nothing. I have been to both extremes and am currently trying to figure out how exactly to settle in that middle space. It is the space where we accomplish something. I am actually finding this more and more difficult to figure out.

Generally, it happens like this: I watch some documentary or hear about some cause or get some random and brilliant idea. Then, I get excited. It is a motivation that springs up from somewhere in the depths of my being and I never knew it was there. Due to this excitement, this spring from which I had never realized I could drink and feel alive, I set myself on a path towards a new kind of excellence. I go gangbusters. Then, I stop. A dead stop. Because it is too much that I have tried to take on and accomplish. I am simply overwhelmed by my zeal.

This is what I mean. This is the space where I try to accomplish everything. I try to take on what seems like everything in the whole world. Every good cause, every fight against injustice, every measure to save the earth, every plight of sorrow, every move towards better health, a better tomorrow, a better me, etc. You see that this is clearly too much, right?

In the dead stop that my overwhelming zeal causes, I meet the space where nothing is accomplished. This space has its own set of problems, as well. Most of which are obvious. The ultimate issue of doing nothing, however, is actually the deadening of my own spirit. It is not that I instantly become a bad person. Not at all. It is that in this failure that has come from my overwhelmed zeal, that is exactly what I end up feeling like: a failure.

When we feel like failures, we do fail. Unfortunately, it is a law of nature. Productive people usually feel more productive and have more energy (within reason), thus creating for themselves a cyclical productivity. People who feel like a failure, feed their failure. Thus creating a similar negative cycle.

The key is recognizing what you are able to accomplish and what matters enough to you to actually move toward it, and then balancing the two. There are many things that my eyes are now opened to that they never have been before. Some of these things excite me to the very core. There is nothing wrong with wanting to be a part of whatever movement is happening. The struggle for me, however, is that I tend to lose sight of the fact that I can’t win every battle or I approach every issue as if my life depended on it. Do not do this (unless, of course, your life really does depend on it).

Please do not misunderstand me; there are many things worth diving head first into and giving your all to. What I really mean is that it is more important to take a step in the right direction and keep walking than to run straight into it, only to be flung back to your starting place. There is no shame in not giving your all to everything. However, it is worth considering if you are giving nothing of yourself to anything worthy and good, whether for yourself or others.

Progress and balance are key words. Keep moving forward, keep finding good things to give yourself to, but maintain your balance along the way.

The space between everything and nothing is something. You may not be saving the world, but doing something is still something. It is still a step in the right direction. Maybe there will come a day when you realize that your balanced progress has come so far that you are actually accomplishing the everything you once dreamed of.

Leave a Reply

