Carrot Zucchini Slaw

When I was growing up, I didn’t know or understand much about coleslaw. Except that you got it from KFC. And that it had an odd milky texture, which turned me off, and a delightful combination of sweet and crunch, which I enjoyed. So I was an unenlightened and confused child in terms of coleslaw. Its rare presence was just about right for how much I both enjoyed and disliked it.

At some point, something changed. I couldn’t tell you what it was, except that “they” say taste buds change every 7 years. I don’t know who “they” are, and I don’t know if this is actually true. Let’s say it is. I can remember a moment driving down the road, just about a year ago, and NEEDING to eat some coleslaw. I didn’t know why. I only knew that I had to figure out how to create that sweet and strange crunch. So I did.

I can tell you what actually changed was that I began to really enjoy cabbage in a way I never had before. When I put two and two together, it made sense that all of a sudden I was creating all sorts of coleslaws just based on what I had in my fridge. This time, I had some carrots and zucchini and a desire to make a slaw that looked kind of elegant. I think it may have worked. You tell me.

Carrot Zucchini Slaw

1 Large Carrot

1 Small Zucchini or 1/3 Large Zucchini

1/3 Head Cabbage

1/3 Red Onion

2 Egg Yolks

1/4 C. Olive Oil

2 T. White Wine Vinegar or TT

1 Clove Garlic

1/8 t. Horseradish

1/4 t. Salt or TT

TT Fresh Ground Pepper

Dill Springs to Garnish

1. Peel the outer layer of the carrot and zucchini. I tend to peel things like cucumber and zucchini only partially (in stripes) so as to leave a little color. But that is up to you.

2. Using your peeler, create long strips of carrot and zucchini. If you have an especially long vegetable, cut it in half or peel starting halfway and then flip it over (that’s what I did; it gives you something to hold on to). Your strips will stop being elegant and start being an annoyance at around 4 inches.

3. Do your best with the cabbage and onion to replicate the strips of carrot and zucchini by slicing them thin. Toss it all in a bowl and set aside while you make the dressing.

4. As for the remaining ingredients, you will need to create a nice dressing with the emulsion method. Start with the yolks. Beat them well and SLOWLY pour in your olive oil until the consistency is quite thick. If you need further guidance or examples, go here.

5. You can add the rest of the ingredients to the dressing at this point. Start with a splash here and there of WW Vinegar and the rest of the ingredients and taste test your way into deliciousness.*

6. Toss the dressing over the vegetables, chill if you’d like, and garnish with dill springs. This makes 2 side salads.

*I’m a true believer that no two people have the same flavor palate. Make food according to what tastes good to you (and the people you will be feeding it to, if that is the case). Just remember that recipes are usually just guidelines, not hard and fast rules. That is, unless you are trying to replicate a classic…

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

